Bruce Springsteen Releases 1978 Roxy Bootleg After 40 Years

Bruce Springsteen

It’s been one hell of a wait! 40 years after the legendary 1978 Roxy Bootleg, Bruce Springsteen has now officially released the entire four-hour long performance.

The concert took place back in June of 1978 in Los Angeles and is now released, thanks to its initial broadcast on KMET-FM Los Angeles. Springsteen has dropped the full four-hour performance, newly mixed and remastered, through his ongoing archival live series.

What made the gig so special from all the highlights was that it was recorded with only 500 hundred fans at an intimate show.

Bruce Springsteen Releases 1978 Roxy Bootleg

Some of the other highlights of the show was the live debuts of Point Blank and a piano version of Independence Day, covers of Buddy Holly’s Rave On, Elvis Presley’s Heartbreak Hotel and the complete version of Backstreets with the Sad Eyes interlude.

“Having decided to play a special show, Springsteen goes out of his way. He dances on the tabletops, and the crowd leaps to grab him. He adds Candy’s Room, one of the Darkness songs he never performs, and halfway through the first set, he introduces a ‘new song that I wrote right after I finished Darkness. It’s called Point Blank, and it’s about being trapped,’” Dave Marsh wrote of the Roxy show in the cover story. 

Bruce Springsteen Releases 1978 Roxy Bootleg

The setlist for the whole show is listed below:

The Roxy West Hollywood, CA Setlist:

Set I:

  • Rave On! (Sonny West cover) (Live debut)
  • Badlands
  • Spirit in the Night
  • Darkness on the Edge of Town
  • Candy’s Room (Fan request)
  • For You
  • Point Blank (Live debut)
  • The Promised Land
  • Prove It All Night
  • Racing in the Street
  • Thunder Road

Set II:

  • Paradise by the “C”
  • Fire
  • Adam Raised a Cain
  • Mona
  • She’s the One
  • Growin’ Up
  • It’s Hard to Be a Saint in the City
  • Backstreets (with Sad Eyes interlude)
  • Heartbreak Hotel (Elvis Presley cover) (Live debut)
  • Rosalita (Come Out Tonight)


  • Independence Day (Live debut – solo piano)
  • Born to Run
  • Because the Night
  • Raise Your Hand (Eddie Floyd cover) (Tour debut)

Encore 2:

  • Twist and Shout (The Top Notes cover) (Tour debut)

What are your thoughts? Let us know by commenting below.

– Written by Samia Sahid


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here